MI Cape Town did a few good businesses at the SA T20 auction on Monday, September 19, 2022. They purchased the services of South African batter Rassie van der Dussen for 3.9 million rands, which was one of their best choices on the big day.

The Proteas batter attracted concern from Johannesburg Super Kings but MI managed to outstrip their competitor. Rassie, who boasts of important international incidents, will be a force to be figured with in MI Cape Town’s middle order.

Cape Town, belonging to the Reliance Group, also secured hard-hitting all-rounder Odean Smith. The West Indian, who alight IPL 2022 with his strength-hitting, was signed for 1.7 million rands.

MI also directed to sign veteran pacer Beuran Hendricks for 2.75 million rands, South Africa’s Ryan Rickelton (1 million rands), as well as George Linde (3.9 million rands), to strengthen their team.

The franchise was keen to sign young Shrub batter Tristan Stubbs. Although, they fell behind to Sunrisers Eastern Cape, who signed the difficult-hitter for 9.2 million rands, making him the best buy of the SA T20 auction.


MI Cape Town general manager(GM) Robin Petersen sounded gratified with the team they have managed to secure. Talking to the host broadcaster, he said:


“Pretty happy. Good mix of players… it’s an exciting squad. We’ll decide on our captain. We will let you know! You had to get a balance among players, and also bench strength. It just depends on how we want to stack up against which opposition in which conditions.

“If you have to win the title, you’ve got to play in the coastal wickets, which support spin. We are pretty well covered in terms of bowling options.”

Before the SA T20 auction, MI Cape Town announced the signings of Rashid Khan, Sam Curran, Kagiso Rabada, Liam Livingstone, and Dewald Brevis.

MI Cape Town Full Team and players list

Cape Town, which is one of the 6 franchises that will aspect in the inaugural edition of SA20, directed to put up a powerful side on paper during the auction.

Full squad: Kagiso Rabada, Sam Curran, Rassie van der Dussen, Dewald Brevis, Wesley Marshall, Olly Stone, Waqar Salamkheil, Rashid Khan, Liam Livingstone, Ryan Rickelton, George Linde, Beuran Hendricks, Duan Jansen, Delano Potgieter, Grant Roelofsen, Ziyaad Abharams, and Odean Smith.


Also read:- 3 India players who are under pressure to play in the series IND vs AUS 2022