All you need to know about mid season transfers of IPL


IPL started in 2008 as the brainchild of Lalit Modi, the father of IPL. The tournament has been the bed of invention since its inception 12 years ago. The player auction, strategic time outs and franchises were all foreign concept when the league started. However, cricket and especially T20 cricket looks incomplete without these now. IPL has come up with its latest invention in 2020, mid-season transfers.


Teams can interchange players in IPL mid-season transfer

The tournament is currently undergoing in UAE with eight teams vying for the ultimate price. Mid Season transfer which was originally brought in last year has been revamped this year and is expected to make things spicier for the league. Here is all you need to know about the alien concept.

What is Mid Season-Transfer?  

Midseason transfers are inspired from the winter transfer window in several foreign football leagues. The mid-season transfer will allow teams to select players from a different IPL team and trade them for one of their players. For example, if Chennai Super Kings wants to trade one or more of their players they will have the opportunity to exchange their players with players for a different team with the consent of both the parties.

When will it start?

The mid-season transfer will after the half-way mark in IPL. In simple terms when all the teams have played seven games each the mid-season transfer window will get activated and will give the chance to teams to exchange their players.

What is the benefit of a mid-season transfer window?

The mid-season transfer can be defined as a second window or a plan B for the teams. Several times, the team makes a bad decision in the auctions and picks a player who does not suit their system or some essential player undergoes an injury. The mid-season transfer will give a chance to these teams to fill a gaping hole in their side and get better prepared for the remaining of the season. This window can help Chennai Super Kings

in bagging a proven batsman in their side or can help Kings XI Punjab in filling their need of a match-winning option in the bowling department.

Who can move?

Any player is it capped or uncapped can move in the transfer window. The teams will release a list of players they have selected to be released or to be loaned out. These players must have played two or less than two games so far in the season. IPL governing committee will issue a period of five days when these players can be moved. The players eligible for mid-season transfers are:

Mumbai Indians:

Aditya Tare, Anukul Roy, Mitchell McClenaghan, Chris Lynn, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Saurabh Tiwary, Mohsin Khan, Digvijay Deshmukh, Prince Balwant Rai, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jayant Yadav, Sherfane Rutherford, Anmolpreet Singh

Chennai Super Kings:

KM Asif, Imran Tahir, Narayan Jagadeesan, Karn Sharma, Mitchell Santner, Monu Kumar, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shardul Thakur, R Sai Kishore, Josh Hazlewood

Delhi Capitals:

Ajinkya Rahane, Keemo Paul, Sandeep Lamicchane, Alex Carey, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Ishant Sharma, Lalit Yadav, Daniel Sams, Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Sharma.

Sunrisers Hyderabad:

Shreevats Goswami, Siddharth Kaul, Wriddhiman Saha, Vijay Shankar, Virat Singh, Bavanaka Sandeep, Fabien Allen, Sanjay Yadav, Basil Thampi, Billy Stanlake, Mohammad Nabi, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem

Kings XI Punjab:

Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Murugan Ashwin, Deepak Hooda, Ishan Porel, Chris Jordan, Simran Singh, Tajinder Singh, Arshdeep Singh, Darshan Nalkhande, Krishnappa Gowtham, Hardus Viljoen, Chris Gayle, Harpreet Brar, Jagadeesha Suchith, Mandeep Singh

Kolkata Knight Riders:

Tom Banton, Nikhil Naik, Ali Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Rinku Singh, Sandeep Warrier, Siddhesh Lad, Chris Green, M Siddharth, Lockie Ferguson

Rajasthan Royals:

Varun Aaron, Kartik Tyagi, Oshane Thomas, Aniruddha Joshi, Andrew Tye, Akash Singh, Anuj Rawat, Yashaswi Jaiswal, Mayank Markande, Ankit Rajpoot, Manan Vohra, Mahipal Lomroor, Shashank Singh, David Miller

Royal Challengers Bangalore:

Josh Philippe, Chris Morris, Dale Steyn, Shahbaz Ahamad, Pavan Deshpande, Adam Zampa, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Moeen Ali, Mohammed Siraj, Parthiv Patel, Pawan Negi, Umesh Yadav